Simone Fields Gets LSWA Honorable Mentions

Posted at 11:28 PM, Apr 07, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-08 00:28:03-04

Press Release

RUSTON, La. – Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns women’s basketball senior Simone Fields earned 2017-18 All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Honorable Mention Honors as a part of the postseason awards given out by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, in a vote of state sports information directors and media members.
It’s the second time in Fields’ career that she’s been named to the LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Team, she was named to the third team following the 2016-17 season.  Fields’ nomination makes it four straight seasons with at least one member of the Cajuns team getting named to the All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball team.
A native of San Antonio, Texas, Fields was named to the 2017-18 All-Sun Belt Conference Third Team, and she finished the 2017-18 season ranked eighth in the SBC in field goal percentage (47%) and 18th in rebounding (166 total rebounds; 5.0 rpg).  Fields was the team leader in rebounds, and second in scoring, averaging 9.4 ppg.
In her career Fields will leave Louisiana ranked high in several career categories as she sprinkled her name all over the Cajuns records books through her four years at Louisiana.  She leaves as the school leader in games played (132), third in career field goal percentage (.519), fifth in field goals made (526), fifth in career rebounds (699) and seventh in career points (1,281). 
Fields was also a key part of a historic four year stretch for the Cajuns, where they finished with a winning record in all four years, the longest such stretch in school history.  And they made it to the SBC Women’s Basketball Championships Semifinals all four years that Fields was at Louisiana. 
On top of four long runs in the SBC postseason, the Cajuns won two WBI Championships in back-to-back seasons (2014-16) and Fields was an important part of those championship seasons.

2018 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Basketball Team
First Team
Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls State, Junior, Guard, Raceland, La.
Randi Brown, UNO, Senior, Guard, Houma, La.
Alexus Malone, LA Tech, Senior, Forward, Oxford, Miss.
Kolby Morgan, Tulane, Senior, Guard, New Orleans, La.
Shakyla Hill, Grambling State, Senior, Guard, Little Rock, Ark.
Second Team
Raigyne Louis, LSU, Senior, Guard, Fort Lauderdale, Fla. 
Christina Devers, LSU-Shreveport, Senior, Guard, Bixby, Oklahoma 
Chloe Jackson, LSU, Junior, Guard, Upper Marlboro, Maryland 
Katie Lemieux, LSU-Alexandria, Senior, Guard, Fairview, La. 
Brianna Green, Southern, Senior, Forward, Fort Lauderdale, Fla. 
Third Team
Taylin Underwood, Southeastern Louisiana, Senior, Guard, Livingston, La.
Kierra Anthony, LA Tech, Junior, Guard, New Iberia, La.
Gabriella Cortez, ULM, Senior, Forward, Natchitoches, La.
Brooke Jones, Louisiana College, Senior, Center, Covington, La.
Arsula Clark, ULM, Freshman, Guard, Douglasville, Ga.
Honorable Mention: Taylor Stahly, LA Tech; Tykeria Williams, Nicholls State; Ayana Mitchell, LSU; Simone Fields, Louisiana
Player of the Year: Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls State 
Newcomer of the Year: Christina Devers, LSU-Shreveport        
Freshman of the Year: Arsula Clark, ULM 
Coach of the Year: Dobee Plaisance, Nicholls State