SportsUL Sports


Wilson, Russell earn preseason SBC honors

Sun Belt Announces Preseason Awards
Posted at 3:56 PM, Nov 11, 2020

The Sun Belt Conference announced its preseason men's basketball player of the year and the three all-Conference teams on Wednesday.

Senior Ruot Monyyong from Little Rock was chosen as the Men's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year in a vote by the league's 12 head coaches. Monyyong was named the Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year last March for the 2019-20 men's basketball postseason honors. He was also a First team All-Sun Belt selection, a Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American and a NABC All-Region selection.

Last year as a junior, Monyyong nearly averaged a double-double with 11.9 points and 9.8 rebounds per game. In Sun Belt play, he averaged 12.6 points per game and 10.2 rebounds per game. The 6'10" forward led the Sun Belt Conference in double-doubles (16), rebounding (9.8), defensive rebounds (7.6) and blocks (2.0). He ranked among the top-40 nationally in six different statistical categories, including 15th in defensive rebounds and 17th in double-doubles. Monyyong's 16 double-doubles were twice as many as the second-most in the Sun Belt Conference.

The league also announced its Preseason All-Sun Belt First, Second and Third teams. (See below.)

Thursday, the conference will release the Preseason Coaches Poll.

This season, the 12 schools will be split into an East Division and a West Division and will play divisional opponents during the regular season to minimize travel amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The first conference games are set for New Year's Day 2021. All 12 schools will compete in the Sun Belt Conference Championship which will be held March 5-8, 2021 in Pensacola, FL.

Men's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year
Ruot Monyyong, Little Rock
(#44, Sr, F - Nashville, Tenn.)

Men's Basketball Preseason All-Conference First Team
Ruot Monyyong, Little Rock
Markquis Nowell, Little Rock
Justin Forrest, App State
Kane Williams, Georgia State
DeVante Jones, Coastal Carolina

Men's Basketball Preseason All-Conference Second Team
David Azore, UTA
Mylik Wilson, Louisiana
Marquis Eaton, Arkansas State
Elijah McCadden, Georgia Southern
Justin Roberts, Georgia State

Men's Basketball Preseason All-Conference Third Team
Cedric Russell, Louisiana
Michael Flowers, South Alabama
Ben Coupet Jr, Little Rock
Zack Bryant, Georgia Southern
Caleb Fields, Arkansas State

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple,Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel