SportsUL Sports


Four Cajuns earn all conference honors

Posted at 5:49 PM, Nov 24, 2020

The 2020 Sun Belt volleyball postseason honors were unveiled on Tuesday.

All-Sun Belt First Team
Laura Jansen, Little Rock

Madison Brown, Arkansas State

Ani Bozdeva, Coastal Carolina

Anett Nemeth, Coastal Carolina

Brigitta Petrenko, Coastal Carolina

Avery Breaux, Louisiana

Hali Wisnoskie, Louisiana

Alli Wells, UTA

Emily DeWalt, Texas State

Janell Fitzgerald, Texas State

Tyeranee Scott, Texas State

Amara Anderson, Troy

All-Sun Belt Second Team
Leigh Maher, Little Rock

Kendahl Davenport, Arkansas State

Lina Perugini, Coastal Carolina

Mya Wilson, Georgia Southern

Kara Barnes, Louisiana

Kelsey Bennett, Louisiana

Rebecca Walk, South Alabama

Briana Brown, UTA

Brianna Ford, UTA

Brooke Townsend, UTA

Lauren Teske, Texas State

Cheyenne Hayes, Troy

Player of the Year
Anett Nemeth, Coastal Carolina
(#13, Jr, RS, Pecel, Hungary)
Anett Nemeth, the defending Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, led the Chanticleers to an undefeated regular season (16-0). The junior from Pecel, Hungary led the Sun Belt and was ranked 18th nationally with 4.30 kills per set during the regular season. Nemeth collected double-digit kills in 14 matches and ended the regular-season with a 20-kill performance versus App State. She also picked up her 1,000th-career kill early in the season. Nemeth led the team and was ranked fifth in the Sun Belt with a .319 hitting percentage and finished second in the conference and 24th in the nation in service aces with 0.41 per set. She ranked second on the team with 115 digs and third on the squad with 27 blocks. Nemeth’s work on defense at the net helped the Chants hold their opponents to a conference-leading .110 hitting percentage, which also ranked second in the NCAA.

Offensive Player of the Year
Anett Nemeth, Coastal Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year
Alli Wells, UTA

Setter of the Year
Emily DeWalt, Texas State

Freshman of the Year
Rebecca Walk, South Alabama

Newcomer of the Year
Leigh Maher, Little Rock

Coach of the Year
Jozsef Forman, Coastal Carolina

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel