SportsLSU Sports


Award season will be kind to LSU this year

Burrow, Tigers could be big winners in 2019
Posted at 5:18 PM, Nov 21, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-21 18:18:28-05

BATON ROUGE — Last season Devin White won the Dick Butkuas award, LSU's only major college football award won since 2013. This years stands to be much kinder to the Tigers.

Wednesday, Ed Orgeron saw his name added to the George Munger Award list, given to the nation's top coach by the Maxwell Football Club. Orgeron is also a Bear Bryant semifinalist, another coach of the year award given by the Nation Sports Media Association.

LSU currently has six different players on eleven awards lists, and two coaches on three.

Heismen Trophy (MOP) Joe Burrow
Maxwell Tophy (MOP) Joe Burrow
Walter Camp Award (POTY) Joe Burrow, Ja'Marr Chase
Bear Bryant Award (COTY) Ed Orgeron
Munger Award (COTY) Ed Orgeron
Doak Walker Award (Best RB) Clyde Edwards-Helaire
Davey O'Brien (Best QB) Joe Burrow
Unitas Golden Arm Award (Best Sr. QB) Joe Burrow
Biletnikoff Award (Top WR) Ja'Marr Chase, Justin Jefferson
Chuck Bednarik (DPOTY) Derek Stingley
Campbell Trophy (Outstanding Scholar) Blake Ferguson
Frank Broyles Award (Top Assistant) Joe Brady
Paul Hornung Award (Most Versatile) Clyde Edwards-Helaire
Wuerffel Award (Top Community Servant) Blake Ferguson

Burrow will likely be LSU's big winner, with a chance to win five awards including LSU's first Heisman since Billy Cannon in 1959. Only Nick Saban won a national coach of the year award for the Tigers. Most awards listed above will be announced during ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards show on December 12.