LSUE’s Dixon earns All-American status

Posted at 4:37 PM, Jun 11, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-11 17:37:32-04

EUNICE, La. – (Press Release) After an undefeated season on the mound, LSU Eunice’s Dane Dixon has been named to the NJCAA Division II All-American first-team, the organization announced on Tuesday.  Dixon is one of 36 student-athletes to be recognized by the NJCAA on the three-team All-American squad.

“Dane exemplifies everything you want in a student-athlete both on and off the field,” LSU Eunice head coach Jeff Willis said.  “He has lived every one of our core values since the day he stepped on campus and has been rewarded with a tremendous season and great recognition.”

Dixon went 13-0 on the season in 15 starts, while the Bengals went a perfect 15-0 when he made an appearance on the mound.  His 13 wins are the most by an LSUE pitcher in an undefeated season, and just the third pitcher to have at least a double-digit win undefeated season, joining Ryan Boudreaux (2007) and Zac Person (2013).

The sophomore captain’s 13 wins also led all of NJCAA Division II and are the fifth most in program single-season history.

In addition to his record win total, Dixon sported a 2.28 earned run average and 1.13 WHIP.  The Walker HS product led the Bengals in strikeouts (89) and innings pitched (86.2).  Dixon fanned a career’s best 12 batters in his final outing at LSUE, an 8-6 victory over Northwest Mississippi in the opening round of the Region 23 Tournament.

The Louisiana Ragin’ Cajun commit was 18-1 all-time at LSUE with an impressive 1.94 career earned run average.  Dixon is just the third LSUE pitcher to earn first-team All-American accolades, joining Zach Hester (2018) and Kenny Plaisance (2003 and 2004).

LSU Eunice has had 22 All-American nominations in the program’s history with 10 first-team NJCA All-Americans.

Madison College led all teams with three selections, while Dixon was one of five Region 23 recipients.  He was joined on the first-team by Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Brandon Parker, while Northwest Mississippi’s Ben Van Cleve (2nd Team), Itawamba’s Houston Harding (3rd Team) and Pearl River’s Wiley Cleland (3rd Team) also made the squad.

P       Logan Bender    Catawba Valley (NC)     So.
P       Dane Dixon      LSU Eunice (LA) So.
P       Carter Robinson Mesa (AZ)       So.
C       Ryan Parquette  McHenry County (IL)     So.
INF     Nick Gile       Madison (WI)    So.
INF     Dan Pruitt      Western Oklahoma State  So.
INF     Mike Sears      Sinclair (OH)   Fr.
INF     Drew Smith      Northeast (NE)  So.
OF      Domenic Boselli Mercer County (NJ)      So.
OF      Adam Henderson  Kellogg (MI)    Fr.
OF      Brandon Parker  Mississippi Gulf Coast  So.
DH      Ryan Moormeier  Bismarck State (ND)     So.

P       Brock Begue     Cuyahoga (OH)   So.
P       Matt Hamilton   Madison (WI)    So.
P       Ty Rybarczyk    Parkland (IL)   Fr.
C       Nate Bloxham    Miles (MT)      So.
INF     Gage Hammonds   Southeastern-Whiteville (NC)    So.
INF     Gary Mattis     GateWay (AZ)    So.
INF     Alex Petchark   UConn-Avery Point (CT)  So.
INF     Ben Van Cleve   Northwest Mississippi   So.
OF      Nathan Aide     Madison (WI)    So.
OF      Jake Hall       Morris (NJ)     So.
OF      Vinnie Massaglia        Illinois Central        Fr.
DH      Ben Mets        Kalamazoo Valley (MI)   Fr.

P       Houston Harding Itawamba (MS)   So.
P       AJ Javitt       Montgomery (MD) Fr.
P       Spencer Walker  Lincoln Land (IL)       Fr.
C       David Espinal   Cuyahoga (OH)   Fr.
INF     Wiley Cleland   Pearl River (MS)        So.
INF     Fox Leum        North Iowa Area So.
INF     Austin Murr     Des Moines Area (IA)    So.
INF     Dayan Reinoso   Chesapeake (MD) So.
OF      John Daly       Rockland (NY)   So.
OF      Matt McElwain   Murray State (OK)       So.
OF      Caleb Upshaw    Western Oklahoma State  So.
DH      Cacy Harper     Northern Oklahoma Tonkawa       So.