Vermilion Parish educator named 2021 Elementary Principal of the Year

Posted at 1:55 PM, Sep 05, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-05 18:25:29-04

A Vermilion Parish educator was named the 2021 Louisiana Elementary Principal of the Year at the 14th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards Gala on Friday.

Rachelle Brown, principal at LeBlanc Elementary since 2018, received the award at the virtual celebration.

Brown was previously assistant principal at Cecil Picard Elementary for four years and at S.J. Montgomery Elementary for two years. Before that, she was the band director at Judice Middle School for six years.

Vermilion Parish Central Office personnel surprised Brown after the announcement:

Several other Acadiana educators were also honored at the virtual gala. Pamela Sorensson (Lafayette Parish) and Carrie Varino (Vermilion Parish) were Teacher of the Year finalists; Erica Bonin (Iberia Parish) was named a Teacher of the Year Semi-Finalist; and Rory Myers (Jeff Davis Parish), Mitchell Fontenot (St. Landry Parish), and Tiffany Francis (St. Martin Parish) were named Principal of the Year Semi-Finalists.

The Department of Education, along with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, annual recognizes and celebrates some of the state's educators through the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs. For more on the awards gala and for the full list of honorees, click here.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple,Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel