SportsLSU Sports


LSU's Delpit, Fulton and Phillips on Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Posted at 10:25 PM, Jul 23, 2019

BATON ROUGE — BATON ROUGE – LSU added more preseason accolades to its already impressive list on Tuesday as three Tigers – Grant Delpit, Kristian Fulton, and Jacob Phillips – have been named candidates for the Nagurski Trophy, the Football Writers Association of America announced.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the defensive player of the year in college football by the FWAA. Delpit was one of five finalist for the Nagurski Trophy last year and is the lone returner from the group back in 2019.

Called the No. 1 defensive back in college football heading in to the 2019 season by USA Today, Delpit was a unanimous All-America selection last year. He’s also on preseason watch lists for the Thorpe Award (top defensive back) and Bednarik Award (top defensive player).

A year ago, Delpit led the Southeastern Conference interceptions (5) and ranked No. 2 in the league in passes defended (14). He also led the Tigers in sacks (5.0), finished third in tackles (74), and added another 10.5 tackles for loss on his way to becoming only the ninth unanimous All-America in school history.

Fulton returns for his second year as a starter at cornerback for the Tigers in 2019 after having a breakout season a year ago. Fulton is listed as the nation’s No. 3 rated defensive back by USA Today after recording 25 tackles, one interception, and 10 passes defended in 10 games in 2018.

Of Fulton, Orgeron said, “he’s one of the top cornerbacks in the SEC, if not America.”

Fulton missed the final three games of the 2018 season with an injury but is healthy and will be 100 percent once camp starts in early August.

With the departure of Devin White to the NFL, Phillips is LSU’s top returning tackler from 2018 as he registered 87 tackles to go along with 5.5 tackles for loss. He also returned an interception 45 yards for a touchdown in LSU’s season-opening win over Miami. Phillips was named SEC Defensive Player of the Week for his performance in the win over the Hurricanes.


National Preseason Award Watch List Release Dates

Date Award LSU Selection

Tuesday, July 16 Davey O’Brien Award Joe Burrow

Maxwell Award Joe Burrow, Clyde Edwards-Helaire

Bednarik Award Grant Delpit, Kristian Fulton

Wednesday, July 17 Doak Walker Award

Thursday, July 18 Biletnikoff Award Justin Jefferson

Friday, July 19 Mackey Award

Rimington Trophy Lloyd Cushenberry

Monday, July 22 Jim Thorpe Award Grant Delpit

Butkus Award K’Lavon Chaisson, Michael Divinity

Patrick Queen, Jacob Phillips

Tuesday, July 23 Outland Trophy

Nagurski Award Grant Delpit, Kristian Fulton, Jacob Phillips

Wednesday, July 24 Lou Groza Award

Ray Guy Award

Thursday, July 25 Paul Hornung Award

Wuerffel Trophy

Friday, July 26 Walter Camp Award