NewsYour Neighborhood Around AcadianaAcadia Parish


LSUE Women's Hoops Unveils Challenging Slate Under Gonzales

Lady Bengals - The 2X defending LCCAC Champs
Posted at 5:17 PM, Oct 04, 2019

EUNICE, La. (Press Release) — The two-time defending LCCAC Champion LSU Eunice women's basketball team will be put to the test with a tough first schedule under head coach Jaime Gonzales as the team unveiled the 2019-2020 regular season schedule. The Bengals open the campaign on November 1 at the BRCC College Classic against Illinois Central College.

LSUE will face two ranked teams from a season ago, both competing in the 2019 NJCAA Division I National Tournament.

Following the BRCC College Classic's games against Illinois Central and Pensacola State College (Nov. 2), the Bengals will play the first of 12 home games against Copiah-Lincoln in a November 7 doubleheader with the men's team. Co-Lin is one of five games for LSUE against MACJC opponents from Region 23.

The Bengals will play in four tournaments this year including the BRCC College Classic (Nov. 1-2), the Angelina College Classic (Nov. 15-16), the EC Thanksgiving Classic (Nov. 25-26) and the Bossier Parish CC Tournament (Jan. 1-2).

The Angelina College Classic will see LSUE face a pair of National Tournament teams from last season, Tyler JC (Nov. 15) and the host Angelina College (Nov. 16).

LSUE will have eight home games in between tournament dates including a three game homestand before semester break featuring contests against McLennan CC (Dec. 7), Coastal Bend College (Dec. 14) and Southern Arkansas University Tech (Dec. 16).

The non-conference schedule closes on Saturday, January 11 against Southeastern Baptist College. LCCAC play begins on Wednesday, January 22 with Baton Rouge CC at the HPRE Center.

The Bengals will play in a pair of jamboree preseason events, the Dave Neely's Frisco Showcase on Saturday, October 12 and the Pelican State Extravaganza on Saturday, October 19.

LSUE welcomes back first-team All-LCCAC selection Claralee Richard and five other student-athletes that received playing time last year. ?