NewsLafayette Parish


USDA declares four parishes disaster areas

Hurricane Barry
Posted at 10:55 AM, Dec 12, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-12 11:55:19-05

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated four Louisiana parishes as primary natural disaster areas.

Producers in Avoyelles, Evangeline, Rapides, and St. Landry parishes who suffered losses caused by Hurricane Barry between July 12 and Aug. 16, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans [].

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Louisiana parishes of Acadia, Allen, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, St. Martin, and Vernon are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 18, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program []; Emergency Conservation Program []; Livestock Forage Disaster Program []; Livestock Indemnity Program []; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans []; and the Tree Assistance Program [].

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at []