NewsLafayette Parish


LPSS Announces Scholarship Winners

Posted at 12:05 PM, Jun 08, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-08 13:05:01-04

The Lafayette Parish School System has announced that 29 students were awarded scholarships through the Superintendent’s Scholarship Committee.

The scholarship money is raised through the fundraising efforts of the Superintendent’s Annual Golf Tournament held in the spring of the previous year.

The committee awarded three $2,000 awards to the three applicants with the highest score; four $1,500 awards to the students with the next highest score, and 22 $1,000 awards to the remaining applicants.

A total of 29 awards were designated for a total of $34,000.

Here are the students and their awards:

$2,000 Scholarship
Jacob Tate, Lafayette High School
Addie Lopez, Lafayette High School
Morgan Domingue, Lafayette High School

$1,500 Scholarship
Aviana San Souci, Lafayette High School
Allie Comeaux, Lafayette High School
Hunter Barras, Lafayette High School
Madelyn Richard, Southside High School

$1,000 Scholarship
Bryli Beaner, Acadiana High School
Jose Espinoza, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Christopher Musgrove, Southside High School
Joseph Arceneaux, Acadiana High School
Jordan Melancon, Early College Academy
Broty Stelly, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Drue McGinn, Lafayette High School
Deborah Fossier, Lafayette High School
Jacques Comeaux, Lafayette High School
Jadyn Prejean, Early College Academy
Bailey Auzenne, Lafayette High School
Jordan Breaux, Carencro High School
A'Jaysia Joseph, Lafayette High School
Emma LeBouef, Lafayette High School
Gabrielle Baillargeon, Lafayette High School
Lane Bergeron, Comeaux High School
Stanley Melton, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Audrey Laper, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Reed Bergeron, Comeaux High School
Gyana Gibson, Early College Academy
Kayla Watson, Southside High School
Anna Broussard, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria to be considered:
● Begin his/her freshman year in 2019-2020 at an accredited Louisiana college, university, or vocaonal-technical school
● Enroll as a full time student (12 or more hours)
● Finish high school with an overall 2.5 G.P.A. or higher on a 4.0 scale
● Demonstrate financial need

The selection process is based on the following:
● The committee prioritizes applications by level of need and assigns three tiers. In addition to income, the amount of scholarship awarded from other sources is taken into account.
● Each application is scored according to four factors: ACT score, GPA, number of siblings, and essay score.

The superintendent would like to thank the following committee members for selecting these winners. Randy Bernard, LPSS Academic Specialist; Nic Jeffers, Director of Athletics, Physical Education and Health; Traci Aucoin, Director of GEAR UP; and Tonya Hebert, Coordinator of Student Placement and Counseling Services.
Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple, Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel