NewsLocal NewsIn Your ParishLafayette Parish


LPSS announces Principals of the Year

Posted at 4:49 PM, Dec 21, 2020

Lafayette Parish School System superintendent and administrators visited schools this week to formally announce the 2020-21 Principal of the Year for elementary, middle, and high schools.

In hand with balloons and a token of appreciation, administrators surprised each principal with the announcement that they were selected as the Principal of the Year in their respective category for the Lafayette Parish School District.

The winners are:
Elementary School: Ginger Richard, principal of Green T. Lindon Elementary School
Middle School: Jeanne Hebert, principal of Acadian Middle School
High School: Renee White, principal of Ovey Comeaux High School

This is a high honor for outstanding principals who have been selected by their peers, officials say. Every year, principals nominate their peers and administrators select a Principal of the Year based on these nominations. The winners of the district move on to the state competition.