NewsLafayette Parish


LCG Charter Transition Committee to Take Public Comment on Dec. 10

Posted at 2:13 PM, Dec 05, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-05 15:13:56-05

LAFAYETTE, La. - A special meeting of the Charter Transition Committee will be held on Tuesday, December 10 at 3:45 p.m. in the City-Parish Council Auditorium. The agenda for the meeting will include further discussion of Lafayette Consolidated Government's (LCG) City-Parish budget allocations, general committee discussion of the recommendations and questions for the final memo to the future City and Parish Councils, and public comment.

The Charter Transition Committee has held regular public meetings since August 27. Since that time, the committee has heard presentations from each of LCG's department directors in an attempt to understand the types of matters that come before the governing bodies and which of the Councils (City Council, Parish Council or both) will take action on those issues, including budgetary items.

The Committee is expected to conclude its efforts prior to the swearing-in of the new Councils on January 6, 2020. The culmination of the work will be a memo of the findings, recommendations and/or remaining questions from the committee members as it relates to LCG's operations and governance under the amended Home Rule Charter. The final Charter Transition Committee meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, December 18 at 3:45 p.m.

Lafayette Mayor-President Joel Robideaux established the Charter Transition Committee in order to aid the new Lafayette City and Parish Council members in the continued functionality of LCG. The committee's purpose is to research both the issues and potential solutions for Lafayette's elected leaders and their respective staffs under the new form of government. Jerry Luke LeBlanc was elected by the committee members to serve as Chairman.

The Charter Transition Committee appointees of each appointing authority are:

Appointing Authority Appointee(s)

15th Judicial District Court Judge Charles Fitzgerald

Area Mayors Mayor Jan-Scott Richard

Assessor Conrad Comeaux

City-Parish Council Liz Webb Hebert, Kevin Naquin, Veronica Williams

Clerk of Court Louis Perret

District Attorney Keith Stutes

Lafayette Public Utilities Authority Nanette Cook

Mayor-President Dustin Arnaud, Nic Walts, Keler Mitchell

Sheriff Mark Garber

University of Louisiana Jerry Luke LeBlanc