NewsLocal NewsIn Your ParishLafayette Parish


FEMA adds five parishes to Hurricane Barry declaration

Hurricane Barry
Posted at 11:41 AM, Oct 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-02 12:41:09-04

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended Louisiana’s major disaster declaration to include five additional parishes impacted by Hurricane Barry.

Here are the five parishes and their classifications:

Lafayette Parish- Public Assistance
Categories A-G

Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Bernard and St. Martin Parishes- Public Assistance
Categories A-B (including direct federal assistance)

The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

• Category A: Debris Removal.

• Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.

• Category C: Roads and Bridges.

• Category D: Water Control Facilities.

• Category E: Buildings and Equipment.

• Category F: Utilities.

• Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items

Note: The state has earlier submitted a second amendment request to FEMA for this disaster declaration based on damage assessment data. That request would expand Public Assistance for Pointe Coupee and St. Martin Parishes to include Categories C-G. It also includes a request for Cameron Parish and St. Tammany Parish to receive Categories A-B and for St. Landry Parish to receive Categories A-G.

That request is still pending.

Click here to see the first major disaster declaration approved by President Trump on August 27