KATC receives two regional Edward R. Murrow awards for "The List"

Posted at 10:21 AM, May 12, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-12 14:29:12-04

KATC is a recipient of two regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in connection with a series of reports on the church sex abuse crisis, according to the Radio Television Digital News Association. “The List” was given the award in the “Investigative Reporting” and “Continuing Coverage” categories.

KATC’s region includes small market television stations in Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. The regional winners will now advance to the National Murrow Award competition, which will be presented in New York this October.

The RTDNA honors outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism, and the awards are given to organizations who demonstrate and embody the standards Edward R. Murrow set for broadcast journalism. To see the full list of winners, click here.

“The List” has also been honored with several other industry awards:

  • An Emmy by the Suncoast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for “New Special”
  • First-place honors from the Louisiana- Mississippi Associated Press Broadcasters and Media Editors for both “Investigative Report” and “Overall Achievement”
  • First-place honors from the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters for "Best Documentary" and "Investigative Report"

To see the stories included in “The List” visit

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple,Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel