NewsElections Local


Qualifying ends for March 20, 2021 election

Who's on the ballot
Qualifying of Candidates for November election
Posted at 5:35 PM, Jan 22, 2021

Qualifying for the March 20, 2021 election has ended as of 4:30 pm on Friday January 22. Below are candidates who have qualified for races in Acadiana.

Big races in this election include US Representative District 5 Congressional seat. The seat was won by Luke Letlow in a December runoff. Letlow died later that month due to complications from COVID-19.

St. Landry Parish will help choose a candidate to fill that seat. Three who qualified are from St. Landry Parish. Most notably in that race, Julia Letlow, Luke Letlow's widow, is hoping to fill his vacancy.

St. Landry residents will also be choosing a Parish President. Democrat candidate Jessie Bellard, who is currently St. Landry Parish's interim president, is running against Republican Dwain Buller. Bellard took over as parish president after Bill Fontenot stepped down in August 2020 due to health issues.

Another big race in Acadiana is happening in Jeff Davis Parish. Residents of Jennings will vote on a Mayor. Current Mayor Henry Guinn, Republican, is running against Democrat Melvin Joseph Adams. Guinn started his term as Mayor in 2017. It would end in June of this year.

Several races have gone unopposed with candidates winning outright. Those are listed below. The only race in Acadia Parish, Alderman for the Village of Mermentau, had no applicants.


Alderman Village of Mermentau

No candidates

Jeff Davis Parish

Justice of the Peace Justice of the Peace Ward 4

  • Colby Perry - No Party
  • Brian "Ping" Vanicor - Republican

Mayor City of Jennings

  • Melvin Joseph Adams - Democrat
  • Henry Guinn - Republican

Councilman District A, City of Jennings

  • Carolyn King Simon - Democrat
  • Carolyn Washington - No Party

Councilman District B, City of Jennings

  • "Johnny" Armentor - Republican
  • Christopher Carrier - Democrat

Councilman District C, City of Jennings

Clifton J. LeJeune - Republican (Unopposed)

Councilman District D, City of Jennings

  • Anthony "Coach" Leblanc - Democrat
  • Ray "Red" Touchet - Democrat

Councilman District E, City of Jennings

Stephen "Stevie" Van Hook - Republican (Unopposed)

St. Landry Parish

U. S. Representative 5th Congressional District

  • Sandra "Candy" Christophe - Democrat
  • Chad Conerly - Republican
  • "Jim" Davis - No Party
  • Allen Guillory - Republican (Lawtell)
  • Jessica Honsinger Hollister -Democrat
  • Robert Lansden - Republican
  • Julia Letlow - Republican
  • Jaycee Magnuson - Republican (Opelousas)
  • Horace Melton III -Republican
  • M.V. "Vinny" Mendoza - Independent
  • Richard H. Pannell - Republican
  • Sancha Smith - Republican (Opelousas)
  • Errol Victor Sr. - Republican

St Landry Parish President

  • Jessie M. Bellard - Democrat
  • Dwain Buller - Republican

Constable Justice of the Peace District 9

Wayne Pitcher - Democrat (Unopposed)

Constable Justice of the Peace District 11

Luke Leger - No Party (Unopposed)

Constable Justice of the Peace District 13

Brenda V. Manue - Independent (Unopposed)

Vermilion Parish

Alderman District B, Town of Kaplan

"Mike" Renfrow - Republican (Unopposed)

Alderman Town of Erath

  • Clarence Fusilier - Democrat
  • "Chris" Hebert - Republican

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel