Qualifying: July 22, 2020

Posted at 10:14 PM, Jul 22, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-22 23:14:42-04

Qualifying for the November 3, 2020 election started on Wednesday and ends on Friday.

Many races in Acadiana already have candidates who have qualified at the end of day one. Below is a list of statewide races and many parish races with qualifying results at the end of Wednesday, July 22.


U.S. Senator

John Paul Bourgeois
Derrick "Champ" Edwards
David Drew Knight
Antoine Pierce

U.S. Representative 3rd Congressional District

"Rob" Anderson
Clay Higgins

U.S. Representative 4th Congressional District

Ben Gibson
Kenny Houston
"Mike" Johnson
Ryan Trundle

U.S. Representative 5th Congressional District

Sandra "Sandy" Christophe
Allen Guillory Sr.
Lance Harris
"Matt" Hasty
Martin Lemelle Jr.
Luke J. Letlow
"Scotty" Robinson

District Attorney 13th Judicial District Court

Trent Brignac

District Attorney 15th Judicial District Court

Daniel "Danny" Landry III
Donald "Don" Landry

District Attorney 16th Judicial District Court

"Bo" Duhe

District Attorney 27th Judicial District Court

Charles Cravins
Chad P. Pitre

District Attorney 31st Judicial District Court

Kevin Millican


In Acadia Parish, races include Crowley, Eunice, and Rayne City Court Judge. M'Elise Trahan has qualified for the race in Crowley, with "Terry" Hoychick and Luke Beslin qualifying in Eunice and Rayne, respectively.

In Evangeline Parish, races include Ville Platte City Marshal, with Lisa T. Doucet, Horace Johnson, and Nicole Latour Snoddy qualifying today. Also on the ballot will be Joshua C. Estes, who qualified for the race of Pine Prairie Police Chief.

Iberia Parish's races include Jeanerette City Marshal - Fernest "Pac Man" Martin has qualified for reelection, with Samuel Wise III and Terrence "Big Moe" Moore alongside him. Freddie DeCourt has qualified for reelection in the race for New Iberia City Marshal.

In Jeff Davis Parish, Daniel Stretcher has qualified for Jennings City Judge, with Clarence L. Cormier qualifying for City Marshal. Other races include Welsh Mayor and Police Chief.

A major race in Lafayette Parish is for City Marshal; Wednesday, Kip Judice, "Reggie" Thomas, and Nathan Broussard qualified for that race.

St. Landry Parish's races include Opelousas City Marshal, with Paul Mouton qualifying on Wednesday. In the race for mayor of Washington, William Dwight Landreneau qualified on the first day. Terry J. Darbonne qualified in the race for Eunice City Marshal.

In St. Martin Parish's race for Breaux Bridge City Marshal, "Jimmy" Dupuis qualified on Wednesday. "Reggie" Clues qualified for the Village of Parks Police Chief.

In St. Mary Parish, Franklin and Morgan City are both holding elections for City Marshal and City Judge. One candidate each qualified for those races today.

Vermilion Parish's races include Abbeville City Judge, with Richard Putnam III qualifying, and Kaplan City Judge, with F. Stanton Hardee III qualifying today. Pam Blakely and Carol Broussard qualified in the race for Mayor of Delcambre.

For a full list of races and qualified candidates for statewide, parish, and multi-parish races, click HERE.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple, Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel