NewsCovering Louisiana


State offices to remain closed Friday in eight parishes

business closed sign
Posted at 2:58 PM, Oct 29, 2020

State offices in eight southeast Louisiana parishes will be closed Friday, Oct. 30, in the aftermath of Hurricane Zeta.

The parishes that will be closed are: Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Tammany and Terrebonne.

Cameron Parish, which has been closed since Hurricane Laura, remains closed until further notice.

An announcement about weekend closures will be made Friday, Oct. 30, the state says.

The state says that all agency heads are responsible for determining those essential personnel who should remain on duty, report for duty or those who should report to alternate work sites as necessary.

This office closure applies to all nonessential employees, including those authorized to work from home due to COVID-19.

State employees should be aware of the following phone numbers to call, which will be updated: 1-800-360-9660 or 225-342-0498.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Download our free app for Apple,Android, Roku and Amazon devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Alexa's Daily Flash Briefing

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel