On Thursday, August 1, a new child safety seat law will go into effect across Louisiana.
The major changes to the law include keeping children rear facing until two years of age and that children younger than 13 must remain in the backseat while traveling.
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommended these changes as best practice for protecting children while driving on the roadway. Louisiana's new laws will follow those recommendations.
The car seat safety laws will now require the following when children are traveling in vehicles.
- Birth - at least 2 years old: Ride rear facing in an infant or convertible child safety seat
- At least 2 years old and has outgrown the rear facing seat by height or weight: Ride in a forward-facing child safety seat with an internal harness
- 4 years old and has outgrown the forward facing, internal harness system by height or weight: Ride restrained in a belt positioning child booster seat
- 9 years old or has outgrown the booster seat and can pass the 5 step test: Ride restrained with a lap shoulder belt secured correctly on the vehicle seat
- Younger than 13 years old: Ride in the rear seat of a vehicle when available and properly restrained.
Officials say that a child who can be placed in more than one category shall use the more protective category. Seats must be used according to the manufacturer's instructions.
Louisiana State Police shared a video to their Facebook page describing the new laws for parents.
The Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force will have several car seat safety checks in Louisiana. One such event is happening on Saturday, August 3 at the Acadiana Mall in Lafayette from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm.
Parents can also head to the Buckle Up Louisiana Facebook page for a full list of Car Seat Safety events in Acadiana and how to get in touch with a certified car seat technician.