The new child passenger safety laws will be going into effect this week in Louisiana.
According to the Associated Press, Louisiana toughened child safety seat law that requires children to stay in child restraint systems longer and includes more details about which children must be in car seats, booster seats and the vehicle's back seat.
The restrictions are based on height, weight and age. The Louisiana State Police has released a Facebook video for parents, informing them about the new law's requirements.
The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission says that the new child passenger safety laws go into effect on August 1, 2019.
Below are the new requirements:
- Birth - at least 2 years old: Ride rear facing in an infant or convertible child safety seat
- At least 2 years old and has outgrown the rear facing seat by height or weight: Ride in a forward-facing child safety seat with an internal harness
- 4 years old and has outgrown the forward facing, internal harness system by height or weight: Ride restrained in a belt positioning child booster seat
- 9 years old or has outgrown the booster seat and can pass the 5 step test: Ride restrained with a lap shoulder belt secured correctly on the vehicle seat
- Younger than 13 years old: Ride in the rear seat of a vehicle when available and properly restrained.
A child who can be placed in more than one category shall use the more protective category. Seats must be used according to the manufacturer's instructions.