NewsLocal NewsIn Your ParishCalcasieu Parish


Calcasieu Parish academy graduation held

Posted at 3:37 PM, Dec 22, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-22 20:27:09-05

According to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso, the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 124th Basic Academy with 37 officers representing 15 agencies in the area. These officers completed 502 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement.

All 37 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers. Due to COVID-19 the graduating officers were unable to have a traditional graduation; but earlier today they had a small ceremony at the Calcasieu Parish Regional Training Academy.

Jeremy LeBlanc, Lake Charles Fire Department, was selected class president of the 124th Basic Academy.

Scholastic awards were presented to:
Austen McMichael, first; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office
Koley Ravia, second; Lake Charles Police Department
Austin Mareno, third; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Firearms awards were presented to:
Aaron Barbee, first; Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office
Koley Ravia, second; Lake Charles Police Department
James Gruspier, third; Lake Charles Police Department

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Koley Ravia, Lake Charles Police Department.

Physical Training Honor was presented to James Gruspier, Lake Charles Police Department.

Officers graduating after completing 502 hours of instruction are as follows:
Jeremy Copeland – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office
Meghan Antoine, Samantha Callaway, Brian Dugas, Jeffery Floyd, Coy Harrington, Dayton Laborde, Jordan Laughlin, Justin Landry, Austin Mareno, Austen McMichael, Triston Smith - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office
Jarrett Nunez, Logan Tingler, Devin Whittington – Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department
Kylie Harlow, Marlon Holmes – DeRidder Police Department
Justin Trahan – Iowa Police Department
Leonard Bailon – Jennings Police Department
Lacey Vincent – Lake Arthur Police Department
Michael Carter, Jeremy LeBlanc – Lake Charles Fire Department
Jonathan DeJesus, John Ford, James Gruspier, Jamar Jackson, Garret Lemieux, Ethan Meaux, Koley Ravia – Lake Charles City Police Department
Amanda Pointer, Elizabeth Scott – Merryville Police Department
Laine West– Oakdale Police Department
Malcolm Ledet – Oberlin Police Department
Javonta Flugence – Rayne Police Department
Deshawn Mouton – Sulphur Police Department
Aaron Barbee – Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office
Joey Fontenot, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, graduated after completing 140 hours of refresher courses.

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis. It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.