NewsLocal NewsIn Your ParishCalcasieu Parish


Calcasieu training academy graduates 123rd class

Calcasieu Law Enforcement Academy
Posted at 9:36 AM, May 19, 2020

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy completed its 123rd Basic Academy recently, with 40 officers representing 12 agencies graduating.

These officers completed 496 hours of instruction in all phases of basic law enforcement, says Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso. All 40 law enforcement officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing (POST) exam and are now certified as Basic Peace Officers.

Due to COVID-19 the graduating officers were unable to have a traditional graduation; but on May 12 they had a small ceremony at the Calcasieu Parish Regional Training Academy.

Robert Montie, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, was selected class president of the 123rd Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Troy Tyson, Lake Charles Police Department.

Firearms awards were presented to:

Tyler LaCaze, first; Allen Parish Sheirff’s Office

Robert Montie, second; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Michael Hamorski, third; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Nicholas Dufrene, Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Officers graduating after completing 496 hours of instruction are as follows:

Tyler LaCaze – Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office

Cindy Brister – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office

William Black, Anthony Boswell, Michael Boudreaux, Cheree Chapman, Zachary Cooper, Alexander Day, Nicholas Dufrene, Joshua Gilmore, Kristian Hagerich, Michael Hamorski, Jennifer Hoffpauir, Caleb Jones, Casey Laurents, Robert Montie, David Reed, Richard Ruot, Omri Wilcox, Alanna Williams - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office

Janetta LaLande, Christopher Spicer, Brennen Theriot – Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department

Lawrence Jones, Raygan O’Quinn, Seth Whetstine – Coushatta Police Department

Billy Allen – DeQuincy Police Department

Tanner Richert, Tannier Touchet – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office

Kenda Davis, Raymond Ford, Martin Johnson, Ted Oliver, Troy Tyson – Lake Charles City Police Department

Brent Quebodeaux – Lake Charles Harbor Police

Russell Bailey– Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office

Eric Murillo, Mary Williams – Ward 3 Marshal’s Office

Harley Cahill – Westlake Police Department

Anastacio Perez, Westlake Police Department, graduated after completing numerous hours of refresher courses.

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training, several law enforcement agencies in the parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis. It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.