NewsLocal NewsIn Your ParishCalcasieu Parish


Calcasieu Parish Police Jury elects president, vice president for 2021

Posted at 6:36 PM, Jan 07, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-07 19:36:35-05

LAKE CHARLES, La. — During its regular meeting on Thursday, the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury elected Brian Abshire as its 2021 president and Guy Brame as its vice president.

According to a release form the CPPJ, Abshire, who served as vice president in 2020, succeeds Tony Guillory, who serves District 4. This is the third time Brame has served as vice president – he previously served in that role in 2009 and 2017.

The CPPJ says Abshire is serving his second term representing District 5, which includes part of Lake Charles area and portions of Ward 3. He was elected in 2017 without opposition to take over the seat vacated by Nicholas E. Hunter, who officially resigned from the Police Jury after being elected as the mayor of the City of Lake Charles.

Abshire, a Commercial Banking Manager for IBERIABANK, is active in a wide range of civic and volunteer organizations, the release states.

Brame was elected in 2005 and is serving his fifth term representing District 8, which includes the City of Lake Charles area and portions of Ward 3. He served as Police Jury President in 2011.

Brame is co-owner of Brame Brothers Power Equipment and Rental and is also the owner of General Lawn, LLC.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

To reach the newsroom or report a typo/correction, click HERE.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Evening News Headlines, Latest COVID-19 Headlines, Morning News Headlines, Special Offers

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Subscribe to our Youtube channel