NewsAround Acadiana


Abbeville Rotary Club honors first responders at annual luncheon

Posted at 5:13 PM, Jun 19, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-19 18:18:20-04

The Rotary Club of Abbeville is showing their appreciation for first responders and city workers.

Today, they hosted their annual luncheon at A A Comeaux Park, honoring some first responders with their Public Servant of the Year Award.

New this year, seven people from the parish sheriff’s office, police department and fire department were awarded Public Servant of the Year. In previous years, the rotary club would rotate which department would be recognized.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Vermilion Parish Sheriff’s Office- Capt. Drew David
  • Abbeville Police Department- Lt. Johnathan Touchet, Sgt. Eugene Rougeaux, Off. Taylor Jones, Off. James Wood, and Off. Shawn LaStrapes
  • Abbeville Fire Department- Capt. Damian R. Landry

Club president Rob Roy tells says it’s important to host these kind of events to thank not only first responders but city workers as well for all that they do.

“It takes a whole group to make this community work. I kind of consider them the gears of the community. Those guys are overworked and underpaid; we already know that. So, just showing them a little appreciation goes a long way in their job,” said Roy.