NewsLocal NewsIn Your Parish


United Way hosts 2023 Teacher Awards presented by Love Our Schools

Posted at 9:49 AM, Mar 17, 2023

United Way of Acadiana rolling out the red carpet tonight for the annual 2023 Teacher Awards, presented by Love Our Schools.

The evening is for honoring 12 teachers in Lafayette Parish for their dedication to their school and students.

Winner for the middle school category, Dr. Rendell James, says not all days are easy but they are worth it.

"To be nominated by parents, students, grandparents is a testament to I guess, what I do in the classroom every day. Some days are easy some days are more difficult but I get up and I go to school everyday for the children, for the students and I'm just honored to be here," Rendell added.

Twelve finalists were selected in the categories of elementary school, middle school, high school, and inspirational, and a top finalist will be chosen in each category and announced at the event.

More than 1,200 educators were nominated by the students, parents, fellow educators, and members of the Lafayette community. The awards event was held at the Heymann Performing Arts Center on March 16 at 7:00 p.m.

Here are the 2023 Teacher Award winners:

Elementary School
Francis Rami

Middle School
Dr. Rendell James

High School
Dr. James Quebedeaux

Angela Rosteet

For more information about the 2023 Teacher Awards visit

Elementary School Finalists
Jennifer Cohen, Prairie Elementary School
Andrea Hardy, Martial Billeaud Elementary School
Frances Rami, Westside Elementary School

Middle School Finalists
Kristy Bentley, Lafayette Christian Academy
Dr. Rendell James, Paul Breaux Middle School
Kristy Sturm, Edgar Martin Middle School

High School Finalists
Shome Dasgupta, Ascension Episcopal School
Chase McDonald, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Dr. James Quebedeaux, Acadiana High School

Inspirational Finalists
Zoe Ange, Dr. Raphael A. Baranco Elementary School
Angela Rosteet, L.J. Alleman Middle School
Keesha Sices, Carencro High School

Several community partners and companies have stepped forward to help make the event possible.

These sponsors are included below:

• Presenting Sponsor: Love Our Schools

• Red Carpet Sponsor: Cox

• Giveaway Sponsors:

  • Meritus Credit Union, Travel Machine – Cruise
  • Dianna Rae Jewelry – Blue Zircon 14kt Gold Earrings
  • Junior League Lafayette - TBA
  • Rader Solutions - Laptop