NewsLocal NewsIn Your Parish


LEF Awards come to a close, teachers awarded for passion and dedication

Posted at 8:31 PM, Jan 31, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-31 23:44:11-05

The LEF Teacher Awards come to a close tonight with four finalists being named winners.

At the Heymann Center, the 16 finalists arrived in glamour and style to a red carpet, decked out in gowns and tuxedos.  We have introduced all the finalists and shared their reasons for teaching. Tonight, four were rewarded for their hard work and dedication.

The four categories are Elementary School, Middle School , High School and Inspirational.

The winners are below:

Elementary School

Christy Taylor – 2nd Grade – Woodvale Elementary School

Middle School 

Madyson Hope Lopez Arceneaux – Special Education – L. J. Alleman Middle School

High School

Cathrine Duex– 9-12 Grade Science – Ovey Comeaux High School


Katie Courville – 6th Grade Social Studies – Youngsville Middle School

For a complete list of the nominees, click here.