NewsAround Acadiana

Actions

TRAFFIC TALK: Lane closures on Basin Bridge start tonight

Posted at 9:37 AM, Nov 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-27 10:46:26-05

Alternating lane closures are scheduled along the Atchafalaya Basin Bridge beginning tonight until December 15 for crews to conduct necessary repairs.

The closures will occur from mile marker 117 to mile marker 128 (Whiskey Bay) for several nights at varying times. All entrance and exit ramps will be open to traffic during the lane closures. The times of the closures are as follows:

Tuesday, November 27 through Thursday, November 29 from 8:30 pm to 5:30 am
Friday, November 30 and Saturday, December 1 from 9:00 pm to 7:00 am
Sunday, December 2 through Thursday, December 6 from 8:30 pm to 5:30 am
Friday, December 7 and Saturday, December 8 from 9:00 pm to 7:00 am
Sunday, December 9 through Thursday, December 13 from 8:30 pm to 5:30 am
Friday, December 14 and Saturday, December 15 from 9:00 pm to 7:00 am

DOTD says that these times and dates are subject to change due to possible weather conditions.

The closures will allow crews to perform deck and barrier repairs to the Basin Bridge.

Motorists are asked to use caution when driving through the area.