News

Actions

New laws go into effect August 1st 

Posted: 6:08 PM, Jul 31, 2018
Updated: 2018-07-31 19:08:12-04

Louisiana will have some new laws starting tomorrow. More than 400 new laws will take effect after they were passed in the latest regular legislative session.

Starting in August, hazing penalties are going to toughen up. The new law makes hazing a felony. Hazing could land you behind bars for up to five years if the victim dies or is seriously injured. 
     
This law was pushed through following the death of LSU freshman Max Gruver last year. he died during an alleged hazing ritual. 

Certain records won’t be public anymore, including the names of victims and witnesses involved in hazing, as well as how jurors vote in criminal cases. A court order will now be needed to view the votes.

Couples who want to get married can now speed things along. It only takes 24 hours now to receive a marriage license. The length of time was three days prior to the new law. 
     
Supporters say this will increase the amount of people choosing to get married in Louisiana, which increases tourism numbers.

There are new rules surrounding those DNA testing kits used to find out your family’s history. Companies are now required to tell you if your  DNA will be used in areas like research or criminal investigations.

Public school teachers and certain school employees will be eligible for up to 30 days of paid leave if they choose to adopt a child. In addition, women who chooses to have an abortion must first be educated on adoption resources and options.  

OTHER NEW LAWS

Judges will have to postpone slander lawsuits filed against people who allege they’ve been sexually assaulted, an effort aimed at keeping perpetrators from using defamation lawsuits to prevent rape victims from advancing assault claims.

Short-term rental sites won’t be allowed to have cameras, unless notice is posted on the premises. Public schools will have to give parents and students information about the "health risks and harms associated with pornography."

Louisiana’s regulations on concealed handguns in churches will no longer involve an eight-hour annual training mandate. Statewide building code requirements will loosen to give Louisiana’s fire marshal more leeway to consider "practical and unreasonable economic hardships."