NewsElections Local


St. Landry Parish election results

Posted at 9:37 PM, Nov 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-16 23:38:26-05

In St. Landry Parish, there were run-offs for parish assessor, parish president and a council seat:

Assessor: Blair Briggs, Democrat, was defaeted by Sherri Zeringue McGovern, Democrat. McGovern got 60 percent of the vote compared to Briggs' 40 percent.

Parish President: WK "Bill" Fontenot, Democrat, was re-elected to the post, defeating Ken Marks, Independent. Fontenot got 53 percent of the vote compared to Marks' 47 percent.

Council Member District 6: Warren "Biscuit" Basco, no party, was defeated by Democrat Gil Savoy. Savoy got 55 percent of the vote compared to Basco's 45 percent.

Voters rejected the renewal of two taxes.

The parishwide proposition that collects one mill for the jail was no renewed. Voters rejected the renewal, 53 percent to 47 percent.

And, voters in the Faquetaique Gravity Drainage District No. 1 rejected the renewal of a 5.72 Mills tax that funds drainage work in the district, 58 percent to 42 percent.

Eunice Gravity Drainage District No. 9 -- 3.57 Mills Renewal - BOC - 10 Yrs.
(Millage Renewal)
Shall Eunice Gravity Drainage District No. 9 of the Parishes of St. Landry and Evangeline, Louisiana (the "District"), levy a special tax of three and fifty-seven hundredths (3.57) mills on all the property subject to taxation in said District (an estimated $63,900 reasonably expected at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year), for a period of ten (10) years, beginning with the year 2021 and ending with the year 2030, for the purpose of acquiring, constructing, improving, maintaining or operating drainage works within and for the District?

6 of 6 precincts reporting - 100%
absentee reporting - 100%

  • Yes - 58%, Votes: 338
  • No - 42%, Votes: 247

Total: 585
Unofficial turnout: 41.0%