NewsLocal NewsIn Your Parish


Three LPSS teachers awarded Teacher of the Year

Posted at 7:16 PM, Jan 10, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-10 20:16:40-05

Three teachers in the Lafayette Parish School System are being recognized for their hard work.

Kacey Edgar-Jackson, Lauren Duhon and Alexander Thomas were chosen for the 2019 Teacher of the Year awards.

Edgar-Jackson is a 7th grade English language arts teacher at David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy. She formerly taught at Acadian Middle School from August 2013 to July 2017, teaching social studies to 7th graders and then moved to David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy.

Duhon is a 1st grade teacher at L. Leo Judice Elementary School. She has been teaching at the school for five years.

Alexander is Northside High School’s band teacher. He has been teaching for 14 years.

All three teachers were presented their awards at their schools today.