Acadiana election results for Oct. 14, 2017 - KATC.com | Continuous News Coverage | Acadiana-Lafayette

Acadiana election results for Oct. 14, 2017

Posted: Updated:
Image Credit: MGN Online Image Credit: MGN Online

Results are in for Acadiana in the Oct. 14 election: 

Acadia Parish 

Voters in the town of Iota voted yes to the renewal of a property tax that funds streets, bridges and drainage. 

New Iberia

Voters in the City of New Iberia have voted yes to a sales tax to pay for the re-creation of the New Iberia Police Department. Read more here

St. Landry Parish 

St. Landry Parish has a runoff for a council member seat in the town of Washington. Republican Dallas Leger, who received 41 percent of the vote, will go up against Party candidate Tanya Doucet, who received 34 percent of the vote. That election will be on Nov. 18, 2017.

Voters in Fire Protection District No. 6 have voted yes for the renewal of a property tax that supports the fire department.

St. Martin Parish 

St. Martin Parish voters have made a decision on two tax propositions in the parish. 

Voters in St. Martin Parish have decided against the levy of a property tax to support the operations of the St. Martin Council on Aging. 

 Voters in St. Martin Water Commission No. 1 voted yes to a continue a property tax that supports the commission's sewer system. 

St. Mary Parish

The candidates of the Franklin City Marshal race are headed to a runoff and three sewage and drainage millage have been renewed and continued.

Democrat Rogers C. Washington Sr., received 28 percent and Independent  Carla Bourgeois Weidenboerner came away with 48 percent of the vote in the Franklin City Marshal race. The two will go to a runoff election on Nov. 18, 2017. 

Voters in Gravity Drainage District No. 6 voted yes on a millage that supports drainage in the district to be renewed.

Voters in Water and Sewer Commission No. 4 voted yes to a millage that supports the water and sewer plants to be continued. Voters in Water and Sewer Commission No. 5 also voted yes on a millage that supports water and sewer treatment facilities to be continued.


Brent Landry has won his seat to the Vermilion Parish Police jury over opponent Kerry Richard. He takes the seat with 60 percent of the vote. 

The Town of Gueydan also has a new Alderman. Elected to the seat was Republican John R. Laseter over the Democrat "Bobby" Broussard. 

Power Doppler HD
Powered by Frankly

© KATC.com 2018, KATC.com
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?