News

Apr 20, 2010 4:52 PM by Melissa Canone

U.K. Airports Reopen Tuesday Evening

LONDON (AP) - Britain's government said U.K. airports -
including London's Heathrow Airport - would reopen Tuesday, as
European terminals lurched back to life while the danger from
Iceland's volcanic ash plume eased.
Transport Secretary Andrew Adonis said all British airports
would reopen at 2100GMT (1700EST), allowing passenger services into
the U.K. to resume. Britain's Civil Aviation Authority said all
U.K. airspace would reopen at the same time.
British Airways said it hoped to land as many as 25 flights
Tuesday evening - from the United States, Africa and Asia into
London.
But forecasters said more delays to flights bound for Europe
were possible. Airspace in Germany remained largely closed until
0000GMT (8 p.m. EDT) but about 800 flights were allowed to fly at
low altitude.

»Comments

»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular