Mar 17, 2013 9:26 PM by Sun Belt Sports

Sun Belt Sends Two to Mens NCAAs

INDIANAPOLIS - The Sun Belt Conference will be sending two teams to the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship for the first time since 2008 as Middle Tennessee and Western Kentucky University are part of the 68 team field. The announcement was made by the NCAA Sunday afternoon.


WKU will face off against the No. 1 seed Kansas Jayhawks on Thursday, March 21 at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Kansas. The Hilltoppers are making their second consecutive trip to the NCAA postseason after earning the Sun Belt automatic qualifier during the 2013 Sun Belt Championship last week in Hot Springs, Arkansas.


WKU (20-15) is making its 23rd overall NCAA tournament appearance and fourth in the last six years.


Middle Tennessee, meanwhile, will help open the First Four in Dayton on Tuesday night, facing Saint Mary's. The winner will play Memphis on Thursday.


Middle Tennessee (28-5) was upset by FIU 61-57 in the Sun Belt semifinals, ending the nation's longest active winning streak at 17 games. The Blue Raiders won their conference's regular season title with a 19-1 record.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular