Apr 26, 2010 11:35 AM by Melissa Canone
SHREVEPORT, La. (AP) - Boat operators should be planning on
taking one of the state-sponsored safe boating classes, if they
haven't done so recently.
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has a large
number of safe boating classes on tap for boating enthusiasts who
have not completed a course. Since the spread of salvania continues
to be a problem on a number of venues, hopefully the courses will
address what can be done to prevent the spread.
Boaters need to be aware of a new law going into effect.
Beginning July 1, anyone born after Jan. 1, 1984 is required to
successfully complete a National Association of State Boating Law
Administrators boating education course to operate a motorboat over
The law previously stated that anyone born after Jan. 1, 1988
was required to complete a course.
"Studies show that boating education is an important factor in
reducing boating crashes and fatalities. Even experienced boaters
can benefit from taking a boating education course," said LDWF Lt.
LDWF-offered NASBLA approved boating courses are free of charge
and are available across the state to assist boaters, fishermen and
hunters in meeting boating education requirements. Anyone
interested in attending a free course can view a schedule of
courses on the LDWF Web site at
www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating/courses. An online NASBLA-approved
course is also available for a small fee.
A person may operate a motorboat over 10 horsepower without
proof of course completion if accompanied by someone over 18 years
of age who, if required, has completed the course.
LDWF also wants to remind boaters to follow the rules of the
road, wear a personal flotation device and designate a sober vessel
operator to keep Louisiana's waterways safe for all boaters.
14 hours ago