Covering Louisiana

Jan 31, 2013 6:06 PM by Melissa Canone

Retirement of Chief Justice Catherine D. "Kitty" Kimball

Chief Justice Catherine D. "Kitty" Kimball retired today after 20 years of service on the Louisiana Supreme Court bench.

She served as an Associate Supreme Court Justice representing the Fifth Supreme Court District from 1992 - 2008.

In January 2009, she was sworn in as Chief Justice, making her the first woman chief justice in Louisiana.

In a message sent today to members of the state judiciary Chief Justice Kimball said, "Today marks my last day as Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court. It has been an honor and a privilege to work with such dedicated and hard-working Judges these past thirty years, and especially the last four years as Chief Justice."
Chief Justice Kimball received her law degree from Louisiana State University in 1970. Prior to her service on the Louisiana Supreme Court, Chief Justice Kimball was a district court judge in the 18th Judicial District from 1982 -1992, including two years as Chief Judge. Her legal career also included work as a sole practitioner from 1975 - 1992 and as an assistant district attorney from
1978 - 1982.

Chief Justice Kimball served as Chair of the Louisiana Judicial Council; Chair of the Louisiana Integrated Criminal Justice System Policy Board; Chair of the Louisiana Supreme Court Technology Committee; Chair of the Human Resources Committee; board member on the Juvenile Justice Implementation Commission; and member of Louisiana Information Technology Advisory Board. She previously served as Chair of the Louisiana Budgetary Control Board; Chair, Court Committee for Southeast Louisiana Criminal Justice Recovery Task Force; and as a member of the Louisiana Children's Cabinet.

The recipient of numerous awards and recognitions, Chief Justice Kimball has been inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame, and the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction. She was selected as the Outstanding Alumni of the LSU Law Center in 1999, and is an honorary member of Order of the Coif. She was named the 2006 Distinguished Jurist by the Louisiana Bar Foundation, and was inducted into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame in 2011.

Succeeding Chief Justice Kimball in representing the Fifth Supreme Court District is First Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Jefferson D. Hughes, III. The Fifth Supreme Court District includes: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Point Coupee, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana Parishes.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular