Sep 24, 2010 6:10 PM

Reopening of Oyster Harvesting Areas 2, 3, 14, 15 and 17

The Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals announced today the reopening of oyster harvesting areas 2, 3, 14, 15 and 17 after working with officials from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and other state and federal partners.
Harvest areas 2 and 3, which were originally closed July 5th, are east of the Mississippi River in St. Bernard Parish. Harvest areas 14, 15 and 17 have been partially closed since May 23rd. Area 14 is in Lafourche Parish and areas 15 and 17 are in Terrebonne Parish. These harvesting areas were closed as a precaution in anticipation of possible oil intrusion.
DHH Secretary Bruce D. Greenstein and State Health Officer Dr. Jimmy Guidry signed the order today to reopen areas 2 and 3 effective one half hour prior to official sunrise September 25.
Areas 8, 11, 12, 13 and 23 remain closed. In addition, areas 9, 10, 19 and 21 remain partially closed.


»Topics in this article

More News

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular