Aug 16, 2010 2:24 PM by Katie Durio
ACT 203 (Effective August 15, 2010) makes text messaging, using a wireless communication device while driving a motor vehicle, a primary offense for all Louisiana drivers. The new law also prohibits persons 17 years of age or younger to operate a motor vehicle while using any "wireless telecommunications device". A wireless communication device includes cell phones, PDAs, laptops, pagers and similar communication devices. Under the new legislation, law enforcement officers may initiate a traffic stop for these offenses alone.*
*Note: Cell phone use for persons over the age of 17 is still legal in Louisiana.
You can read the full bill here: ACT 203 - TEXTING AND DRIVING.pdf
11 hours ago