St. Martin

May 3, 2014 10:03 PM by Ian Auzenne

Nelson wins third term as mayor; Landry reelected to council

St. Martinville mayor Thomas Nelson will spend another four years in office.

Nelson defeated challenger Melinda Mitchell by a 55%-45% margin--or 1,133 votes to 944. Nelson will be sworn in for his third term on July 1.

Also in St. Martinville, Debra Landry will serve a full four-year term as the city's District 4 councilwoman.

Landry, who has been in office since the 2013 death of former councilman Ronald Charles, defeated former St. Martinville assistant police chief Nary Smith, Sr. Landry claimed 273 votes (56%) to Smith's 211 (44%).



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular