Dec 4, 2012 11:52 PM by AP

LSU Lands 5 On Coaches All-SEC Squad

The Southeastern Conference office released the 2012 Coaches' All-SEC Team on Tuesday, and LSU earned five selections, including three first-team members.


Junior defensive end Sam Montgomery, junior linebacker Kevin Minter and junior safety Eric Reid were named to the Coaches' All-SEC First Team, while senior placekicker Drew Alleman and junior defensive end Barkevious Mingo were selected to the second team.


It is the second honor in as many days for Minter and Reid who were both named First-Team All-SEC by the Associated Press on Monday. Montgomery and Mingo were second-team selections by the AP.


It is the second straight season Montgomery has earned a spot on the Coaches' All-SEC First Team, and it marks back-to-back years for Alleman on the coaches' second team.


Minter leads the team and ranks third in the SEC in total tackles with 111, and he also leads the team and ranks fourth in the conference in tackles for loss with 13.5.


A member of the 2012 AFCA All-America team, Reid is third on the team with 81 tackles to go along with two interceptions and six pass breakups in 12 starts this season.


Montgomery has a team-best 7.0 sacks to in addition to 12.0 tackles for a loss and 32 total stops.


Alleman ranks second in the SEC in scoring with an average of 8.4 points per game, and he is the first LSU player in school history to record 100-plus points in back-to-back seasons. Alleman has scored 101 points this season after racking up 110 in 2011. He is 20-28 in field goals this season with a long of 49 yards at Arkansas. His 20 made field goals ranks as the third-most in a single season in LSU history.


Mingo leads the team with 12 quarterback hurries, and he has accumulated 33 tackles this season, including 5.5 tackles for a loss and 4.0 sacks.


LSU has produced 38 First-Team All-SEC selections since head coach Les Miles' first season at LSU in 2005.


2012 Coaches All-SEC Football Teams

(* - Ties) (Coaches could not vote for their own players)





TE - Mychal Rivera, Tennessee

OL - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

OL - Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL - D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL - Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

C - Barrett Jones, Alabama

WR - Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

WR - Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

QB - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB - Mike Gillislee, Florida

RB - Eddie Lacy, Alabama

AP - Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee



DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL - Sam Montgomery, LSU

DL - Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

DL - Sharrif Floyd, Florida

LB - Jarvis Jones, Georgia

LB - C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB - Kevin Minter, LSU

DB - Dee Milliner, Alabama

DB - Matt Elam, Florida

DB - Eric Reid, LSU

DB - Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State


Special Teams

PK - Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P - Kyle Christy, Florida

RS - Ace Sanders, South Carolina





TE - Jordan Reed, Florida

OL - Larry Warford, Kentucky

OL - Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

OL - Chris Burnette, Georgia

OL - Dallas Thomas, Tennessee

C - T.J. Johnson, South Carolina

WR - Ryan Swope, Texas A&M

WR - Justin Hunter, Tennessee

QB - AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB - Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt

AP - Ace Sanders, South Carolina



DL - Barkevious Mingo, LSU

DL - Sheldon Richardson, Missouri

DL - John Jenkins, Georgia

DL - Corey Lemonier, Auburn

LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB - Jon Bostic, Florida

LB - *Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State

LB - *Alec Ogletree, Georgia

DB - D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina

DB - Bacarri Rambo, Georgia

DB - Robert Lester, Alabama

DB - Darius Slay, Mississippi State


Special Teams

PK - Drew Alleman, LSU

P - * Dylan Breeding, Arkansas

P - * Richard Kent, Vanderbilt

RS - Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee




Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular