Aug 17, 2010 4:17 PM by Staff

Louisiana Municipal Governments Reveals 2009 Community Achievement Award Winners


NEW ORLEANS - These Louisiana municipal governments - Bossier City, Crowley, DeRidder, Golden Meadow, Gretna, Jean Lafitte, Monroe, New Iberia, Pearl River, Pineville, Ville Platte, and Vinton - took home the Louisiana Municipal Association's most prestigious award for outstanding municipal improvements and accomplishments.

In addition, the City of Natchitoches garnered the LMA Ninth Annual "Best of Show Award" for its "Going Green Natchitoches-Natchitoches Recycles" program, a broad-based project engage community involvement in recycling and waste reduction efforts through a variety of public information and education campaigns reaching citizens, school children, businesses, educational institutions, and public entities in the city and parish.

The announcement of LMA's 2009 Community Achievement Awards was made Saturday night, August 7, at the annual banquet of LMA's 73rd annual convention at The Hilton Riverside New Orleans Hotel here. The convention drew some 1,400 delegates, spouses, dignitaries, exhibitors, and guests.

The LMA's annual awards program recognizes municipalities for outstanding achieve ment in basic services, community development, and economic development. Within these categories, awards are presented in four population subcategories.

The competition is co-sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Economic Development, Louisiana Industrial Development Executives Association, and LMA.

Entries submitted were judged by a committee of judges from Louisiana Economic Development, the state's Planning Commissions, the Louisiana State Fire Marshal's Office, and the Louisiana Industrial Development Executives Association.

Dr. Brookie Allphin, communications and governmental consultant, said the awards pay tribute to the "vision and ingenuity of elected municipal officials and those who assist them in planning and improving citizen services, community life, and economic conditions."

"These awards truly reflect the hard work, dedication, and sacrifice necessary to secure progress for the modern American municipality on a path of progress," Allphin said.

The award winners and honorable mentions in each category and population group are as follows:


Municipalities with population under 3,000:

Winner - Town of GOLDEN MEADOW, for construction of a state-of-the-art multi-purpose governmental building and emergency operations center.

Honorable Mentions - Village of MER ROUGE, for the first phase of its downtown renovation project and construction of community sidewalks, and Town of CULLEN, for its water/wastewater system improvements project.

Municipalities with population 3,001 to 10,000:

Winner - City of VILLE PLATTE, for development of a public safety/building code ordinance to institute local fire safety hazards for certain commercial buildings and multi-family housing units.

Honorable Mentions - Town of ADDIS, for the Myhand Street Culvert project, and City of CARENCRO, for its state-of-the-art water treatment plant.

Municipalities with population 10,001 to 25,000:

Winner - City of PINEVILLE, for promotion of a sales tax proposition and bond issue package for much-needed water infrastructure improvements.

Honorable Mentions - City of DENHAM SPRINGS, for its sewer treatment facility system upgrade project, and City of SULPHUR, for the Municipal Business Center Project, to provide a one-stop shop for municipal services needed by citizens, businesses, and visitors.

Municipalities with population 25,001 and over:

Winner - City of NEW IBERIA, for the mayor's after-school program for kids, a joint effort of the mayor's office and the city's recreation and parks department.


Municipalities with population under 3,000:

Winner - Town of JEAN LAFITTE, for the Leo E. Kerner, Jr., City Park Multi-Purpose Complex.

Honorable Mentions - Town of ARNAUDVILLE, for its multi-purpose community center project, and Town of STERLINGTON, for its "Faith, Family, and Friends" community improvement projects.

Municipalities with population 3,001 to 10,000:

Winner - Town of VINTON, for its sidewalk project.

Honorable Mentions - Town of VIVIAN, for its School Health Care Project to address the physical, social, and mental health needs of students, and Town of DeQUINCY, for restoration of a historic (1951) municipal building.

Municipalities with population 10,001 to 25,000:

Winner - City of CROWLEY, for the Historic Parkerson Avenue Commercial District Redevelopment Project.

Honorable Mentions - City of RUSTON, for the Old Ruston Post Office Renovation Project to provide much-needed facilities for the city's police department, City of BASTROP, for the city's Recovery Plan and Long-Range Economic Diversification Strategy process.

Municipalities with population 25,001 and over:

Winner - City of MONROE, for the Operation Monroe Transit System "Ride Green" Project.

Honorable Mentions - City of BATON ROUGE, for the Land Development Application Search Tool of the City-Parish Planning Commission, and City of LAKE CHARLES, for its Adventure Cove Park and Recreation Complex, a playground "imagined by children and built by the community."


Municipalities with population under 3,000:

Winner - Town of PEARL RIVER, for positioning the community for relocation of "Rooms-to-Go" Regional Distribution Center and Showroom to the town.

Municipalities with population 3,001 to 10,000:

Winner - City of DeRIDDER, for successful participation in the Louisiana Development-Ready Community Pilot Program Initiative.

Honorable Mentions - City of COVINGTON, for the Covington Trailhead Interactive Historical Museum and Visitors Center, and Town of GRAMERCY, for Phase 3 construction of its water treatment facility and chemical system improvements.

Municipalities with population 10,001 to 25,000:

Winner - City of GRETNA, for the Malter Property Cleanup Project, a public-private brownfields redevelopment effort.

Municipalities with population 25,001 and over:

Winner - City of BOSSIER CITY, for the Cyber Innovations Center, a public-private partnership to defend the nation from terrorism in cyberspace.

Honorable Mention - City of CENTRAL,, for establishment of The Central Economic Foundation, Inc., to develop strategies to increase municipal revenues for city operations and services.

"These municipal improvements reflect the vision, leadership, and hard work of the officials and leaders of these communities should be a source of deep pride for every Louisianian," said LMA Immediate Past President Susan Menard, mayor of Cankton.

"Mayors and municipal officials have a proven understanding and knowledge of service delivery, community building, partnerships, and entrepreneurialism. Their innovativeness, leadership, and ability to devise and execute excellent initiatives in basic government services, community development, and economic development are efforts that truly inspire progress for Louisiana's municipalities," Mayor Menard remarked.

"We congratulate all of the municipalities which competed in this year's Community Achievement Awards Program," said Mayor Menard. "Louisiana's mayors and municipal officials work long hours and endure significant sacrifices to achieve tangible and measurable progress for their towns and cities."



»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular