Feb 21, 2014 3:33 PM by PRESS RELEASE

LCG Needs/Funding Sources Committee announces 1st meeting

The first meeting of the LCG Future Needs/Funding Sources Committee has been set for Wednesday, February 26, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall, 705 W. University Avenue, 1st Floor, Large Conference Room.

This committee will be charged with assessing the needs of various departments under Lafayette Consolidated Government, including, but not limited to the: Fire Department, Parks & Recreation Department, Police Department and Public Works Department.

The purpose of this committee will be to examine and assess parish-wide governmental services, as well as evaluate funding resources necessary to support the operations of these departments.

The committee will consist of five (5) citizens and three (3) council members, who will only serve in an advisory capacity. The committee members are as follows:

Jason El Koubi, CEO
Lafayette Chamber of Commerce

Chad Hanks, Parish Resident
LEDA Chairman, Local Lafayette Parish
Sugarcane Farmer

Scott Hayes, Finance Committee
The 705 Organization-Young Leaders for a Better

Jerry Prejean
Iberia Bank, Financial Executive

Sarah Walker, City Resident


Kevin Naquin, Chair of the Council

Lafayette City-Parish Council
Jay Castille, Finance Chair

Lafayette City-Parish Council

Don Bertrand, LPUA Chair
Lafayette City-Parish Council
Former Chair/Assessment Committee on School Needs

After much discussion in recent years about the subject matter, the Ad Hoc Committee was formed as an initiative of the Chair of the Council, Kevin Naquin, after discussions with the Finance Chair. The committee will be asked to review the "specific" purpose noted above, with a target recommendation by January 2015.

The committee will not discuss or address any matters related to the governmental structure, the Charter, consolidation or de-consolidation. The citizen members were selected based on their involvement, in various capacities, with both the city and parish, and have a vested interest in the community. The three (3) Council Members will serve in an advisory role only and will not have a vote in the final decision. The public's attendance and input are welcomed.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular