May 7, 2010 1:17 PM by Katie Durio

Lafayette Police SWAT Team Wins Award


During the week of May 3, 2010, the Lafayette Police Department SWAT Team and the Lafayette Parish SRT Team hosted the Louisiana Tactical Peace Officers Association (LTPOA) Annual Conference. At the conference every year, two awards are given out, the “Carruth-Ezernack” Team Valor Award and the “Robbie Beane” Individual Excellence Award.


The awards are presented to a team within the State of Louisiana whose members distinguished themselves through valorous actions during a tactical operation. The selection committee reviews these situations in regards to a team which acts without regard for their own safety to protect fellow officers, innocent victims, and even suspects.

This year’s award was presented to the Lafayette Police Department SWAT Team for its distinguished actions during three barricaded incidents where the suspects were armed or had committed violent crimes against innocent persons. The LPD SWAT Team demonstrated courage, patience, and discipline to resolve these incidents without injury to the public, officers, or the suspects. This is the second time the Lafayette Police Department SWAT Team has received this Award from the LTPOA. 



»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular