Mar 25, 2013 12:00 PM by MELISSA CANONE

James William Rivers 2012 Prize Winner

The Center for Louisiana Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette is happy to announce that Zachary Richard is this year's recipient of the James William Rivers Prize for Louisiana Studies.

The prize selection committee specifically recognized Richard for his "longtime activism toward the advancement of the French language and Cajun culture around the world." In addition to his highly
successful bilingual recording career, Richard has: written several critically claimed volumes of poetry; co-authored with his daughter Sarah a series of children's books; assembled the first general history of the Acadians for use in French immersion programs; narrated or produced award-winning documentary films; and through his Action Cadienne organization, as well as all of the other aforementioned ventures, consistently promoted the French language and Cajun culture of Louisiana.

There will be a brief award ceremony followed by a small reception honoring Zachary Richard on Thursday, March 28 at 6p.m. at the home of UL Lafayette President Dr. Joseph Savoie, which is located on the UL Lafayette campus. The James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies was established to honor persons who have contributed or rendered, recently or over the course of their careers, outstanding scholarly study, work, or teaching about the culture, history, art, architecture, crafts, flora, fauna, music, literature, law, performing arts, or geography of Louisiana or about its people. The Rivers Prize was established with private funds donated in memory of Mr. Rivers, a New Orleans architect and graduate
of USL (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), who died in 1991.


1992 A. Hays Town
1993 Marcel Giraud
1994 Saul Litvinoff
1995 Joy J. Jackson
1996 Barry J. Ancelet
1997 Mary Louise Christovich
1998 Ernest J. Gaines
1999 Samuel Wilson, Jr.
2000 Glen Jeanson
2001 Elemore Morgan, Sr. & Elemore Morgan, Jr.
2002 Mathé Allain
2003 Glenn R. Conrad
2004 Louisiana Public Broadcasting
2005 Ellis Marsalis
2006 Frank de Caro
2007 James Lee Burke
2008 Jay D. Edwards & the Fred B. Kniffen Cultural Resources Laboratory
2009 Carl A. Brasseaux
2010 Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities
2011 George Rodrigue
2012 Zachary Richard





Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular