Dec 15, 2012 6:26 PM by UL Sports Information

Devitt Named Louisiana Women's XC Freshman of the Year

LAFAYETTE - Ragin' Cajuns women's cross country freshman standout Anna Katherine Devitt has been named the 2012 Louisiana Sports Writers Association's Freshman of the Year following a debut season in which she posted Louisiana's best time in each meet.

Devitt was one of eight women's cross country runners from the state's collegiate programs recognized by the LSWA on the All-Louisiana Women's Cross Country team that was released by the organization on Friday.

In her rookie campaign with the Ragin' Cajuns, the Christian Life High School (Baton Rouge, La.) product was the Ragin' Cajuns women's cross country top finisher in all five races. She recorded two 5K times of less than 20 minutes and was mere seconds away from a third 5K under 20 minutes (20:01 at McNeese Cowboy Stampede).

Devitt placed second in the Ragin' Cajuns Invite in what was just her second collegiate meet (5K time of 19:18.9).

Devitt wrapped up her strong debut season by leading the Cajuns women's team for the fifth time in as many outings on the season at the Sun Belt Championships back on Oct. 27. She posted a season-best 5K clocking of 18:53.6 that landed her in 18th place. Devitt was one of only 20 competitors (83 total) on the women's side to finish under 20 minutes. She just missed all-conference honors, finishing four seconds off the mark.

LSU senior Laura Carleton was named the 2012 LSWA female Runner of the Year. Jessica Stone, a senior on the New Orleans squad and a native of Shreveport, competed in her first collegiate season and was the top female finisher for the Privateers in three meets landing her newcomer of the year accolades.

Xavier's Joseph Moses led the Gold Nuggets to their seventh consecutive team championship and a berth in the NAIA National Meet for the fourth time in five years was the LSWA women's cross country Coach of the Year.

2012 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Cross Country Team
Laura Carleton, LSU
Paige Callahan, Tulane
Tessni Carruthers, Nicholls
Anna Katherine Devitt, Louisiana
Zahri Jackson, Xavier
Fionnuala Ross, McNeese State
(Tie) Emmis Aguillard, Tulane
(Tie) Allison Crawford, McNeese

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Jessica Stone, New Orleans
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Anna Katherine Devitt, Louisiana
COACH OF THE YEAR: Joseph Moses, Xavier


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular