Posted: Oct 1, 2009 1:13 PM by jthibodeaux
Updated: Oct 1, 2009 1:13 PM
BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - People in cars in Louisiana must be buckled up or pay up now.
Louisiana State Police will begin on Thursday issuing tickets to those in violation of a new law that requires people in both the front and back seats to wear seatbelts.
Police allowed a grace period between Aug. 15 and Sept. 30 and launched a public education campaign to give motorists time to become familiar with the new rule.
Violators will be fined $25 for the first violation, $50 for a second violation, and $50 plus court cost for subsequent violations.
(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)