Nov 30, 2009 3:41 PM by Press Release

53 parishes declared natural disaster

Today, Governor Bobby Jindal announced that U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has declared 53 parishes as primary natural disaster areas and ten parishes as contiguous disaster areas due to a combination of disasters including a severe drought and excessive rainfall that caused production losses for farmers throughout the state. The disaster declaration makes farm operators eligible for emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program from the U.S. Farm Service Agency (FSA).


»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular