Mar 2, 2011 9:33 AM by Nichole Larkey & AP

10 Louisiana parishes in drought disaster

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Louisiana Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain says 10 parishes along the Mississippi state line are included in a federal drought disaster declaration.
They're included because they're adjacent to a Mississippi drought disaster area covering 44 counties.
In Louisiana, the disaster area includes Concordia, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Madison, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Washington and West Feliciana parishes.
Farmers have eight months from the Feb. 28 declaration date to apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.


»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular